Las Vegas Photo Extras

Photo Galleries

Photo highlights from the 16th annual NHRA Nationals, stop five on the 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series tour.

Photo highlights from the unique NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at zMAX Dragway, stop four on the 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series tour.

Bonus content from:

Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals race coverage (Issue 7, 2015)

The 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series headed to Gainesville for its third stop, the Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals. Following are photo highlights from the annual event.

Bonus content from:

Six Appeal (Readers Choice, Issue 6, 2015)

This issue's feature on six-cylinder-powered race cars barely scratched the surface of the many, many racers who have had success with that engine combination. Here are a few others who have preferred to go the unconventional route.

Bonus content from:

Still Soaring (Readers Choice, Issue 6, 2015)

For much of the 1970s and 1980s, Dale Pulde was a fixture in the Funny Car class, at the national event level and on the match race circuit. Although he is best known for piloting the War Eagle nitro floppers, the list of cars he drove is as long as it is impressive. A partial rundown includes the Vicious Vette, Trojan Horse Mustang, Pete's Chevron Cougar, Invader Corvette, Stone-Woods-Cooke Tinkerbell, Doug's Headers Javelin, Kelly Chadwick Camaro, Mickey Thompson's various rides, Keeling & Clayton Pinto, Don Schumacher's Wonder Wagon Vega, Pete's Lil Demon Dodge, Eastern Raider Mustang, Plueger & Gyger Mustang, Chicago Patrol Mustang II, Christopherson & Hamby Vega, Billy Meyer's Hawaiian Tropic Citation, Gene Beaver's L.A. Hooker Mustang II, Shady Glenn Buick Regal, Whit Bazemore's Smokin' Joe's Mustang, and Bill Blomgren's Geronimo Camaro. We've cherry-picked a few for this gallery.

Bonus content from:

Almost Perfect (Readers Choice, Issue 6, 2015)

This issue includes a feature on Don Prudhomme’s amazing 1976 season — seven wins in eight national events — which may have been the greatest campaign ever for one of the greatest NHRA racers ever. The Army Monza was truly a magical machine, but Prudhomme had a number of other great race cars leading up to that season. Here’s a look at some of “the Snake’s” earliest rides.

Bonus content from:

Barker, Newmans Go Back to Back; Longhany Stays Hot (Issue 6, 2015)

Two weeks after scoring NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series wins in Top Sportsman and the 11.00 Index class, respectively, Jeffrey Barker and Glenn Newmans returned to Auto-Plus Raceway at Gainesville for an encore performance.

Bonus content from:

Severance, Westerfield Win Pacific Division Opener (Issue 6, 2015)

Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park was the site of the first West Region and Division 7 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series events of the 2015 season. Joey Severance (Top Alcohol Dragster) and Shane Westerfield (Top Alcohol Funny Car) were among the big winners at the event.

Bonus content from:

CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals race coverage (Issue 5, 2015)

The 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series went to the Valley of the Sun for its second stop, where teams did battle at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park near Phoenix. Following are photo highlights from the annual three-day event.

Bonus content from:

First Regional Titles of 2015 Go to Shields, Ferro (Issue 5, 2015)

Historic Auto-Plus Raceway at Gainesville hosted the first NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series regional event of the 2015 season, and perennial alcohol racing powerhouses Duane Shields and Mickey Ferro captured the hardware in Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car, respectively.

Go To Top